help_outline Skip to main content
Lightning Class Association
HomeBlogsRead Blog

North American Championship

Photos, Results and More!
By Laura Jeffers
Posted on 8/23/2019 4:30 PM

The Buffalo Canoe Club and Fleet 12 in Point Abino, Canada ran a fantastic North American Championship Series! 

Thank you to the BCC Staff and Volunteers that helped to put on a great event. 


Champions and Result Links can be found on the ILCA 2019 Results Page or the links below: 
Women's NAC - Debbie Probst, Monica Jones, Allie Jones
Junior NAC - Doug Wake, Noah Bartelt, Lars Osell
Master's NAC - Ched Proctor, Chris Morgan, Monica Morgan
NAC Qualifying Series  - John Newell, Mandy Newell, Owen MacDonald
President's Cup - Jim Allen, Abby Allen, Jane Allen
North American Championship (Blue Fleet) - Ched Proctor, Samuel Blouin, Monica Morgan

Photos, Photos and more Photos!
Art Petrosemolo was out on the water for the WJM's and the first few days of the NAs. His photos can be found via the following links: 



Shoreside Photos can be found on the ILCA Flickr Page: 


Interesting Stats from the Championship and President's Cup Fleets: 72 Boats

4 Countries, 2 continents

50% of the fleet are sailing with at least 2 family members. Of that, 12 Husband/Wife Teams are out there and 9 ALL Family boats! 

30% of the fleet are all female competitors. 7 are female skippers and we have 3 all female teams - Team Probst (Jenna), Team Probst (Debbie) and 2019 Boat Grant Team Moloney.

20% of the Fleet is helmed by Skippers 30 and under. (15) of that we have 4 that are Juniors - Parker Colantuono, Jenna Probst, Charlie Robinson, JP Starck

16 First Time Participants - 8 in Championship and 8 in President's Cup

Special Award Recognition:

McDermott Trophy - Joe Starck - Most improved in Qualifying Series from 2017 to 2019

Fallon Trophy - John Birkett - Last boat to qualify for Blue Fleet

Swanson Trophy - Jenna Probst - Recognizing Womens Sailor 

Kaleigh Wilday Trophy - Nico Colantuono - Youngest Sailor Age 11 

Fleet 36 Trophy - Parker Colantuono - Highest placing Junior Skipper 

Thermis Trophy - Ryan Davidson - Top First Time Blue Fleet Skipper 

Elfman Trophy - Larry MacDonald - Top North American Skipper to sail in both Masters and regular NAs. Can't be won by the same person two years in a row.

Top Grand Master - Steve Davis

Top Great Grand Master - Leonard Krawcheck

Colin Park Trophy - Highest placing married couple.

    Blue Fleet: Jimmy & Kelly Barnash

    President's Cup: Sjoerd-Jan & Kathy Vanderhorst

Leave a Comment
Sponsor Number URL address
Sponsor 1
Sponsor 2
Sponsor 3
Sponsor 4
Sponsor 5
Sponsor 6
Sponsor 7
Sponsor 8
Sponsor 9
Sponsor 10

Lightning Class Supporters