NOTICE OF CIRCUIT

2009 Southwestern Lightning Circuit



Invitation

You are cordially invited to participate in the 2009 Southwestern Lightning Circuit to be held from May 2009 through December 2009. This circuit is intended to promote the development of the Lightning Class in states of Mississippi, Louisiana, and Texas.

Rules

This series of regattas will be governed by the Notice of Regatta or the Sailing Instructions for each regatta. The Organizing Committee will resolve all matters not within the jurisdiction of individual juries (e.g. circuit scoring).

Circuit Scoring

Scoring will be high-points, with scores at each Circuit stop as follows: Each skipper will be awarded points for each regatta they enter. Points will be awarded based on the number of boats entered in each regatta. Each skipper will earn points for the number of entrants they beat + 1. (i.e. - if there are 20 boats entered in a regatta, first place will earn 20 points, second place 19 points, ., and last place 1 point). Each skipper will be awarded 1 bonus point for each regatta they enter that is outside their local sailing area, and there will be 5 additional bonus points awarded to skippers that attend all six Circuit stops. No more than 10 total bonus points will be awarded to any skipper.

Tiebreakers

When there is a tie in series points between two or more skippers, the tie will be broken in favor of the skipper with the most first places in regattas, or, if the tie remains, the most second places, or lower places if necessary. When a tie still remains, it will be broken in favor of the skipper with the best score in the last race in which the tied skippers raced and scored differently.

Entry

There is no separate entry form or fee for the Circuit, but the individual regattas may have entry forms or fees per their NOR's. Skippers participating in at least one scored regatta of the Circuit will qualify to be included in the final overall Circuit standings.

Prizes

The perpetual trophy will be awarded to the skipper with the highest total Circuit points. Additional prizes will be presented to the top three finishers in the overall Circuit in addition to the individual regatta prizes.

Schedule

Six scheduled regattas comprise the Circuit:

May 2nd – 3rd Southern District Championship - Bay-Waveland Yacht Club Bay St. Louis, MS

May 16th – 17th Hernando De Soto Regatta - Delta Sailing Association Hernando, MS (Memphis)

June 13th – 14th
Texas District Championship - Rush Creek Yacht Club
Heath, TX (Dallas)

October 10th – 11th
Hospitality Regatta - Jackson Yacht Club
Jackson, MS

November 21st – 22nd
Turkey Day Regatta - Houston Yacht Club
Shoreacres, TX (Houston)

December 26th – 27th
Sugar Bowl Regatta - Southern Yacht Club
New Orleans, LA

Venue Information

For more information about the venues visit the club web sites listed below.

Bay-Waveland Yacht Club www.bwyc.org

Delta Sailing Association www.deltasailing.com

Rush Creek Yacht Club www.rcyc.org

Jackson Yacht Clubwww.jacksonyachtclub.comHouston Yacht Clubwww.houstonyachtclub.comSouthern Yacht Clubwww.southernyachtclub.org

Disclaimer of Liability

The ILCA and any of their respective agents disclaim jointly and severally, any and all liability for material damage, personal injury, or death sustained as a result of competing in the Circuit or in any way incident thereto. Competitors, as a condition of their participation, shall participate entirely at their own risk as stipulated in RRS Rule 4.

Further Information

Contact Organizing Committee <u>i.womble@mccarthyarchitecture.com</u>