Brazil's 2019 National Lightning Class Championship took place form March 14 to 16. The contest was held at Guaratuba Yacht Club (wwwiateguaratuba.com.br), in the city of Guaratuba located on the coast of Paraná state, in the South Region of Brazil.



Eight boats participated from the 2 fleets of the class that are active in Brazil, namely in the States of Paraná and São Paulo.

The crews that competed in the event were as follows:

- Cláudio Biekarck, Gunnar Ficker and Isabel Ficker Perugini
- Hans Juergen Ludwig, Mathias Arno Ludwig and Diego P. Melo
- Ian Mckee, Michael Downey and André Shierz
- Marcelo Ling, Percy Glaser and Javert Sanches Neto
- Marcelo Prosdócimo, Carlos F. Caruso and Arsênio Almeida Neto
- Pedro Prosdócimo Neto, Sarah de Aquino and Nelson Galvão
- Rogério Augusto Alves, Sergio Hoefel and Daniel Thá
- Sergio M. Kraemer, Ligia L. B. Kraemer and André S. de Medeiros Gabínio



The regattas were organized by Brazil's regatta manager Marcelo Gusmão Reitz, assisted by Carla Maria de Oliveira Lobato and regional regattas manager Rodrigo Kelm.

Eight regattas were planned considering a minimum of three completed regattas for the Championship to be valid.

On March14, the first three regattas were held blessed with a firm east wind varying between 8 and 12 knots.











On the March 15, another 3 regattas were held with the wind veering south at 6 to 9 knots.









On March 16, two regattas were held with east winds ranging between 14 and 18 knots, demanding greater effort by the crews in spinnaker maneuvers, which resulted in two capsized boats in the last regatta.













By the end of the 8 regattas, the results of the Championship was as follows:

- Cláudio Biekarck, Gunnar Ficker and Isabel Ficker Perugini in first place:
- Ian Mckee, Michael Downey and André Shierz in second;
- Marcelo Prosdócimo, Carlos F. Caruso and Arsênio Almeida Neto in third;
- Pedro Prosdócimo Neto, Sarah de Aquino and Nelson Galvão in fourth;
- Hans Juergen Ludwig, Mathias Arno Ludwig and Diego P. Melo in fifth;;
- Sergio M. Kraemer, Ligia L. B. Kraemer and André S. de Medeiros Gabínio in sixth;
- Rogério Augusto Alves, Sergio Hoefel and Daniel Thá in seventh;
- Marcelo Ling, Percy Glaser and Javert Sanches Neto in eighth.



The Championship was officially sponsored by Paraná Banco, supported by Paraná State Yachting Federation (FEIP), Brazil's Sailing Confederation (CBVELA) and the Lightning Class Association (ABCLI).

On March 16, before the Championship's regular regattas, a special regatta was held with the participation of the Sponsor's guests, adding a 4th deckhand to the boats. This regatta had winds of 16 knots, providing a rewarding experience for both guests and the crews, considered a success by all participants.









Num. Tripulação

1 14893 Claudio Biekarck/Gunnar Ficker/Isabel Ficker Perugini 2 15264 Ian Mckee/Michael Downey/André Shierz

3 14633 Marcelo Prosdócimo/Carlos F. Caruso/Arsênio Almeida Neto

4 15396 Pedro Prosdócimo Neto/Sarah de Aquino/Nelson Galvão

5 14892 Hans Juergen Ludwig/ Mathias Arno Ludwig/Diego P. de Melo

6 14845 Sergio Kraemer/Ligia Kraemer/André S. de Medeiros Gabínio

7 4894 Rogério Augusto Alves/Sergio Hoefel/Daniel Thá

8 14504 Marcelo Ling/Percy Glaser/Javert Sanches Neto

Clube Estado 1* R. 2* R 3* R 4* R 5* R 6* R 7* R 8* R Total Desc. Total c/ Desc. col. pts. col. pts.

18 24 FEIP PR SPYC SP 36 ICG PR 4 4 5 5 5 5 7 7 5 5 6 6 8 38 FEIP- PR 6 6 6 6 6 6 5 5 7 7 8 8 4 4 dnf 9 51 9 42 FEIP PR













The flowing deserve a special mention in the event's organization.

- Ercy Priscila Nascimento Guaratuba Yacht Club Sailing Director
- Pedro Prosdócimo Neto Guaratuba Lightning Fleet Capitan
- Diego Zagonel de Camargo Secretary of the Lightning Class in Brazil
- Sergio Montenegro Kraemer President of Paraná state Yachting Federation

The President of Brazil's Sailing Confederation (CBVela), Marco Aurélio de Sá Ribeiro, was also present at Guaratuba to honor the event and congratulated the championship's organization and excellent technical level. He particulçarly stressed the importance of the event for the winning crew that will compete for Brazil at the Pan-American Games in Peru, namely the sailors Cláudio Biekarck, Gunnar Ficker and Isabel Ficker Perugini.

The beautiful photos recording the event were taken by photographer Mariana Camargo Cima.

Special thanks to Guaratuba Yacht Club land support team.

Translated by Richard John Sumner (SumnerTranslations@gmail.com)